Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Start Here: Home

Purcell Marian International Research Center Home

Home

Welcome

Check Your Account

Characteristics of a Cavalier

COVID-19 Resources

Meet Your Research Assistant!

Search our Library Catalog here!

A-Z Database List

To browse all databases and sort by subject, click here.

Featured Databases: HISTORY

Request Form

International Baccalaureate Resources

 

Additional IB Guides coming soon...

Featured Resource

COMPLETE LIST OF GUIDES

Project Guides by Instructor, Class, Department

How to Access

To access guides for specific projects or teachers, please click the light blue "Project Guides" tab above and select from the drop-down menu.

Corgiat World Religions Project

World Religions Project

The below resources are designed to help assist you with your World Religions project for Ms. Corgiat's class. 

To view the full assignment, please click here.

World Religions Resource

Here are three sites that should provide a good starting point for your research.

https://religionfacts.com -- This is a long-running site devoted to providing accessible information on a huge number of religions. It also provides links to other sources specific to the religion you've selected.

https://www.patheos.com/library -- Patheos is an online media company devoted to providing information on faith and spirituality. They host contributors who write on specific religions, but they also offer a library (linked here) that gives reliable information on world religions.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/religion/religions/ -- Although this site is no longer updated, it was published by the BBC and offers credible reporting on a variety of world religions. It also has a subsection called "Ethics" for each religion that discusses the religion's position on issues such as war, capital punishment, abortion, and animal rights.

MLA Annotated Bibliography Guidelines

Research in the Sciences

Welcome

RESEARCH IN THE SCIENCES LAUNCHPAD

START HERE

Begin your research by checking out two of INFOhio's functions. If it asks for your login, use the username and password below.

username: pmhs                password: pmhs

 

Click here to access INFOhio's iSEARCH

NOTE: To look at search results specific to STEAM, click the STEAM tab, circled below.

(STEAM stands for Science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.)

Click here to access INFOhio's Science Reference Center

NOTE: To launch the site click, you'll need to click "OPEN" on the first page.

 

SOURCE SPOTLIGHT: Science Journalism

Journalism sources (from newspapers, magazines, and other news sites) are often excellent sources because they tend to use less academic language than academic journals. Keep in mind, however, that different news sources will have different biases in how they treat topics. For more information, you can check out the News, Current Events, & Media Bias Guide.

Below are several science news websites that cover contemporary issues in science.

pod|fanatic | Podcast: Science Times New York Times Science Section -- This is the home of all of the NYT's science journalism, covering topics like Climate, Health, and Space & Cosmos.

 

Scientific American, the oldest U.S. magazine, hits another milestone as  the appetite for science news heats up - Poynter Scientific American -- "Scientific American covers the advances in research and discovery that are changing our understanding of the world and shaping our lives. Founded 1845, it is the oldest continuously published magazine in the United States."

 

Science Friday Science Friday -- A website for the popular radio show Science Friday. "Covering the outer reaches of space to the tiniest microbes in our bodies, Science Friday is the source for entertaining and educational stories about science, technology, and other cool stuff."

 

Science News | The latest news from all areas of science Science News -- An excellent source for all newsworthy science, with a website that features a "For Students" section. Science News was founded in 1921 as an independent, nonprofit source of accurate information on the latest news of science, medicine and technology. 

 

 

 

SOURCE SPOTLIGHT: Data

If you are looking for data to analyze using scientific methods, there are several good resources providing data for analysis. 

Google just published 25 million free datasets | by Tom Waterman | Towards  Data ScienceDataset Search -- Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets created by Google. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

 

Our World in Data Our World in Data -- Research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems -- 3059 charts across 297 topics.

 

WHO | World Health Organization WHO Global Health Date Repository --  WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 Member States. Data are organized to monitor progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), including health status indicators to monitor progress towards for the overall health goal, indicators to track equity in health indicators, and the indicators for the specific health and health-related targets of the SDGs.

 

Wittenauer Research Project

Resources for Wittenauer Research Project

Resources for Ms. Wittenauer's 11th Grade Research Project 

Start Here

Begin your research by checking out INFOhio's iSEARCH function. If it asks for your login, use the username and password below.

username: pmhs                password: pmhs

Click here to visit INFOhio's iSEARCH!

Journalism Resources

Journalism sources (from newspapers, magazines, and other news sites) are often excellent sources because they tend to use less academic language than academic journals. Keep in mind, however, that different news sources will have different biases in how they treat topics. For more information, you can check out the News, Current Events, & Media Bias Guide.

Below are some news sources you can visit directly and search. These are organized by their political orientation/bias.

Pew Research Center

Now here's a cool resource! Do you know about the PEW RESEARCH CENTER? They collect data about all kinds of topics and spend a lot of time polling Americans to find out what they think on various issues.

CLICK HERE to go directly to their website to see what topics they cover!

 

Wyatt IB Year 1: Historical Foundations of Gilead

Historical Foundations of Gilead Paper

The below resources are designed to help assist you with your first paper in IB English Year 1, "Historical Foundations of Gilead."

To view the full assignment, please click here.

Why seek out Scholarly Research?

Mr. Wyatt has required that you use academic, or scholarly, sources for this paper. It's worth taking a moment to break down what makes a source scholarly and what value it brings to the research process.

What makes a source academic/scholarly? Academic/scholarly sources are produced by experts in a field, often academics and researchers at universities. These sources contribute to knowledge areas like Psychology, Art History, or History by sharing new research or analysis. This is one way knowledge grows and evolves. Most often, these sources take the form of theses, articles, book chapters, or entire books.

Sometimes Difficult, but Worth the Effort: Typically, scholarly sources are written for an audience of peers. In other words, experts are often addressing their research to other experts. This can make the sources more difficult to understand than, say, popular sources like newspaper articles, which are designed to be consumed by the average American without prior knowledge of the topic. That said, it's worth practicing reading scholarly articles, because they provide expert analysis and are carefully vetted. What do I mean by vetted? You'll sometimes hear people refer to "peer-reviewed" studies or journals. If you go to college, you will almost certainly have a professor require that you read peer-reviewed articles. "Peer-reviewed" just means that the article or study has been read, reviewed, and selected for publication by other experts (or "peers"). It shows that knowledge-building is a shared enterprise, and it means that the sources are regarded as highly reliable by other studying the topic.

Tools for Scholarly Research

As an introduction to scholarly research, you'll be using two of the most user-friendly (and free) tools available for locating scholarly or academic sources: Google Scholar and Google Books.

Google Scholar allow you to search broadly for scholarly literature across fields or disciplines. In addition to articles from peer-reviewed journals, the search results include theses, books, and abstracts from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites that fall under the "scholarly" umbrella.

Google Books is not limited to scholarly sources, but it is, as it calls itself "the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books." With Google Books, you can search the full text inside a remarkable number of books. This is great if you're looking for a very narrow topic -- a topic that may only be mentioned for a page or two in a 200-page book. Google Books makes it easy to find that nugget you need in a book without having to read the entire thing.

Please note: Google Scholar search results will at times contain books in Google Books; however, for the best results, I recommend you use both sources independently.

JSTOR is a database to which we recently subscribed. It provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articlesbooks, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. In order to use it, you need to login with the following username and password:

Username : purcellmarian

Password : cavalier9

Developing and Refining Your Search Terms

For this particular assignment, you have two areas to pin down: 1) the concept, theme, or element from A Handmaid's Tale that you wish to explore/compare and 2) the real-life culture, people, and/or historical moment you want to use as a point of comparison. In the table below, I've written out some of the ways you could narrow your selections into key terms for research.

Examples of Concept, Theme, Elements to Research from The Handmaid's Tale Real-life culture, people, and historical moment for point of comparison

Gender roles (institution of marriage; fatherhood, motherhood; husband, wife)

Reproduction (fertility, infertility; homosexuality; reproductive rights; menstruation)

Ideologies (modesty and purity; ideological indoctrination; systemic & internalized oppression

Nazi Germany — 1933-1945

Soviet Russia under Stalin — 1924-53

Puritan New England — mid-1600s

Slavery in American South  — 1776-1865

Islamic fundamentalism Iran — 1970s

To search effectively, you'll need to combine the two columns and play with your search terms. Note that when you're searching CONCEPTS, it's especially important to play with language in your search. In the left column, the words in parentheses are examples of alternate terminology that could allow for a more successful search.

MLA Citation Basics

Click the image below to access the MLA Citation Basics Handout.

Wyatt IB Year 2: The Edited Self Author Project

Assignment

The Edited Self: Author Project

Click here to view the entire assignment.

MLA Citation Basics: Works Cited Page & In-text Citations

Researching Authors

Have you chosen to research a different author?

Keep in mind, the author must be someone who has written non-fiction, and you must be familiar with the texts he or she has written.

 

A Few Search Tips

1. Search for interviews with the individual -- these may be written/transcribed, but you should also search for interview recordings on youtube.com

2. Instead of searching "[author name] biography," be more specific -- try search terms like "childhood," "family" or "early career."

3. Check out social media -- it can be difficult to locate biographical details for younger, less established authors, but younger authors are also more likely to have a social media presence that reveals biographical details.

A-Z Databases (Searchable)

Job Resources

Job Sites


Wondering where to start a job search? Below are 5 job sites to use as a starting point, with brief descriptions of what each has to offer. 


Indeed is the most popular and user-friendly of the big job sites. It gathers jobs from across the internet (including company career pages and classified ads). You can upload a resume and register with the site to apply for any job with the click of a button. You can also sign-up for email alerts when new jobs appear that match your saved job searches.


CONSTRUCTION SKILLS STAGE & LOUNGE - Sydney Build Expo 2022 - Australia's  Leading Construction, Architecture & Infrastructure Exhibition

LinkedIn functions in two ways: it serves as a social networking tool for the professional setting (ie facebook but for the work world) AND it offers access to great job listings. If you create an account, it can allow you to see the connections you already have and use those to secure a job.


Don't confuse this with Google Careers, which allows you to search jobs AT Google. No, Google for Jobs, is just what it sounds like -- a way to apply the power of Google to your job search. Just visit Google.com and search POSITION + JOB. For instance, if I was looking for a librarian job, I would type in "LIBRARIAN JOB" and see the following search results: 


Ohiomeansjobs.com boasts over 200,000 jobs currently available. You can create a free account to search jobs, upload your resume, and even receive emails with articles, resources, tools, and job recommendations that are tailored to your needs.


In addition to providing job-seekers a platform for searching and applying for jobs, Glassdoor offers reviews of employers, as reported anonymously by current and former employees. This gives job-seekers an inside look at what it's like to work there, as told by those who do or have. In addition, Glassdoor allows users to anonymously submit and view salaries. This can be useful information when negotiating a starting salary.


MLA & OWL Resources

News, Current Events, & Media Bias